top of page

John Moores Painting Prize 2020 jury revealed

Musician, songwriter, artist and photographer Alison Goldfrapp is among the judges of this year’s John Moores Painting Prize.

She will join painter Hurvin Anderson, performance and moving image artist Michelle Williams Gamaker, frieze magazine editor-at-large Jennifer Higgie and Shanghai artist Gu Wenda on the jury which will select the winning artworks in this year’s prestigious competition, as well as the paintings which will be included in the John Moores exhibition at the Walker Art Gallery.

The biennial competition is now open for submissions, with the overall winner receiving £25,000. Four runners-up will each receive £2,500.

This year also sees the introduction of the Emerging Artist Prize, supported by Colart. The winner will receive £2,500, plus premium art materials of the same value. Applicants for the Emerging Artist Prize, which eligible entrants may opt into, are still able to win any of the other competition prizes.

And visitors to the John Moores Painting Prize 2020 exhibition are also invited to vote for their favourite painting to win the popular Visitors’ Choice Award, sponsored by Rathbones. The winning artist will receive £2,020.

Above: 2018 winner Jacqui Hallum with Sir Peter Blake

Top: Visitors at the John Moores Painting Prize exhibition. Photo Gareth Jones

Alison Goldfrapp said: “The John Moores Painting Prize has an unparalleled reputation for attracting some of the UK’s most talented and innovative artists.

“It’s a great honour being part of this year’s jury and taking on the challenge of choosing the prizewinning works.

“I’m expecting lots of lively debate across the panel as we delve into what I’m sure will be a diverse and exciting selection.”

Works are judged as anonymous submissions, and past prize winners include David Hockney (1967), Mary Martin (1969), Lisa Milroy (1989), Peter Doig (1993), Keith Coventry (2010), Rose Wylie (2014), Michael Simpson (2016) and, most recently, Jacqui Hallum.

Sir Peter Blake, winner of the competition’s then junior prize in 1961, is Patron of the Painting Prize.

Submissions are welcomed between February 17 and March 24 HERE

bottom of page